.wp-post-image { display: none !important; }

Trust Governance

The purpose of governance is to provide confident, strategic leadership and to create robust accountability, oversight and assurance for educational and financial performance.

Our board has three core functions:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  2. Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent

Structure of The Mead Academy Trust

More information about our individual schools’ Academy Advisors:

View our Trust's key documents


The Board of Members comprises:

Christian Checkley (as Chair of Trustees)

Peter Finn

Jon Clarke

Tracey Wright

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees comprises:

Christian Checkley (Chair of Trustees)

Bob Quick (Vice Chair)

Peter Finn (Resources Committee)

Lyssy Bolton (CEO)

Kim Baker (Co-Chair of The Mead Advisory Group)

Jayne Bullock (Chair of Castle Mead Advisory Group)

Mike Haines (School Improvement)

Lesley Shellard (Chair of River Mead Advisory Group)

Invited attendees (no voting rights):

Karen Austin (Headteacher, River Mead School)

Mel Jacob (Co-Chair of The Mead Advisory Group)

Kirsty Jamieson (Head of Inclusion)

Lindsay Palmer (Head of Teaching School)

Harriet Phillips (Acting Head of School, Castle Mead School)

Mark Stenton (Headteacher, The Mead)

Resources Committee Members 

The Resources Committee comprises:

Bob Quick (Chair, Resources Committee)

Peter Finn

Christian Checkley

Lyssy Bolton

Those who attend Resources Committee meetings:

Sheila Pedler (Staff, School Business Manager)

Mel Jacob (Staff, School Business Manager)

Gina Shanahan (Staff, School Business Manager)

Kerry Thain (Staff, School Business Manager)

School Effectiveness Group

Lyssy Bolton

Jayne Bullock

Lindsay Palmer

Kim Baker

Mike Haines